The Spinathon

Alright, guys. Sunday came and went and on that lovely day we had ourselves a six hour spinathon.

Let’s talk numbers here.

We had 60 plus riders.

We had one person do all six hours.

We had one person do four hours.

We had five people do three hours (myself included.)

In the first hour we raised 275 dollars.

By the fourth hour we had to break out a bigger bucket.

At the end of the day, when we were all sweaty and spent, we counted the loot.

I counted 1500 dollars.

Clearly my counting skills went south, because today I got an email from Ann saying that Claire alone raised 1450 and another rider there that day raised 140 and another raised 10 (for her own fee for riding.) That’s 1600 dollars, people.

ONE THOUSAND SIX HUNDRED DOLLARS.

I’m so happy. It was such a great experience.

Claire ran out of thank yous and started making them as people came and went.

claire thank you notesWe had a huge turn out every hour, too. A lot of people called off in the last few days leading up to it, and I kind of freaked out a bit, but I was able to reach out to others who were already riding and said for them to bring friends if they wanted. I didn’t want empty bikes!

all smilesI made a basket for the girl who did the entire six hours. It included fancy epsom salt, body scrub, ibuprofen, and pain cream.

claire and vanMy legs are tired, my knee is a little sore, but overall, I’m super happy. This was a great experience, and I couldn’t have done it without the help of the ARL and Jen. It was so fun to see people come out to support the ARL and Claire but also try spinning for the first time. A lot of people are super intimidated of spinning, and I get why. I was once, too. But the fact that so many gave it a try made me so happy.

So yay for fitness, yay for dogs and cats and yay to the spinathon!

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on April 8, 2013, in Cassie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Wow, that is huge! Plain success, huh? Congrats to you and Claire and all the people involved! (And six hours? That is insane!)

  2. Congratulations! Looks like Claire’s on her way to being just as ambitious and successful as her mommy! 🙂

  3. That’s amazing! Congratulations to you, Claire and the ARL. I know they’re thankful to have great supporters like the two of you.

    And pain cream? What is this you speak of and how do I get it?

Leave a Reply

