Seven years coming

We bought our house the day after Thanksgiving in 2006. We had all kinds of big plans on things we wanted to do to make it our own, but I quickly got pregnant with Claire and what we did to improve the house was simply adding in hardwood floors and painting walls.

We’ve lived here nearly seven years and finally, FINALLY we can say something is complete.

Today the deck furniture in it’s entirety came. It took less than 30 minutes to put them together and here I sit, on my deck, COMFORTABLY – without the sun in my face, and on real furniture.

I finally feel like an adult.

First, let’s start where we left off – the sectional on the second deck.

I finished that the day after I bitched a lot. Somehow I was able to sand and paint them without killing the kids.

521814_10151438143353791_358317365_n

Finished! (Though, please notice the paint foot on the carpet. That’d be Luca. He did get yelled at.)

11588_10151438205258791_917268116_nYesterday, Matt and I began the daunting task of making a privacy lattice. It’s going to go behind the sectional and on the side of it, only a few feet.

We got two of the posts up and that’s about it. But the actual framing and attaching the lattice isn’t going to take long. So there’s hope we’ll finish sometime before June.

010I’m also waiting for my fabric to come so I can make the pillows for the sectional. Obviously I’ll post about that when that’s done, because that’s a big deal – me and my sewing machine.

So now, on to the main deck.

It’s like an extension of our house. Finally.

And of course, we have the Sadie photo bomb.

005

Looking downward towards the second deck. The privacy lattice will go from the far right of the second deck to just by the grill. Just enough to keep Mae from flinging herself over the edge.
007However, this couch makes me nervous. I can just see Mae flinging herself over the edge of this, too. I had a minor panic attack when I realized I hadn’t considered this. So now I’m just going to have to be OCD about watching her all the time and perhaps invest in a squirt bottle for when she stands on the couch. Kid makes me nervous.

014I’m just so happy. It’s so nice to have a place to sit, relax, outside, where I’m not being scorched by the sun. I can see and hear the kids from here, so I don’t have to be in their faces while they play and I can enjoy time to myself, too.

I’m so glad the sun is shining so that I can actually enjoy it, too.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on April 22, 2013, in Cassie and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Aww, that’s a shame, looks like you won’t be featured on Disaster Decks anytime soon. Though apparently it only airs in Canada anyway, but I’m sure I’ve seen that guy’s smug face and hair on HGTV in the US.

    • Trust me, if they saw my kitchen, they’d come on over to the US for it. It’s a damn shame.

      • Sounds like you need the Kitchen Cousins!

        Disclaimer: Landlord is not affiliated, associated, authorized, endorsed by, or in any way officially connected with HGTV or any of its subsidiaries or its affiliates. However, extended exposure to HGTV, while cooped up in a hotel in Canada with no HBO, has resulted in extensive knowledge of available programming.

  2. Oh my gosh now I am TERRIFIED of Mae using the furniture to propel herself over the sides. Maybe you better put some of those stunt people cushions all along the bottom just in case.

    But it looks AMAZING. I can’t wait until I can visit, sit on it with you and drink wine. I’ll pencil myself in for next summer.

  3. Oh, those decks looks awesome! Congrats on becoming an adult ;)!

  4. Great work, my friend! Looks like a good place to throw the next Darwinfish Fry!

Leave a Reply

