Note to self

Hey Cassie,

I get it. I really do. You’re stubborn and you dream awfully big. However, and that’s a big however – HOWEVER, you know how when you get an idea in your head and you refuse to deviate? Perhaps next time you decide to run a half marathon 9 weeks after giving birth when the last time you ran anything more than 3 miles was when, oh I don’t know, THE FULL MARATHON YOU DID A YEAR PRIOR, perhaps you’ll consider not doing so.

Don’t get me wrong, I love your spirit and your can do attitude, but really, just no.

We hurt. Yes, yes we do. Our hips feel like they’re about to pop out of socket when we try to take stairs and I’m 90% certain you re-aggravated the fracture you had gotten on your foot back in the days of young. And let’s not even talk about the hamstrings and I’m guessing those are my calves, but I think I lost my knees somewhere on mile 11 and can’t feel much below where they once were.

But no biggie. We’ll be fine in a few days.

So yes, Cassie. You are in shape. You ran a half marathon with zero training in 2 hours and 10 minutes. With hills. Those were mean hills. Slow clap.

Just please. Train next time, OK? Because now you’ve proven to the world that, yes, you can run a half marathon on a whim. Good for you. You got your medal.

Now let’s go stretch.

Love, Cassie

942787_10151463410183791_1413736928_n

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on May 6, 2013, in Cassie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I remember when you were worried about me not training for a 10k… and now you took what I did and did it 10 times worse. Still, I’m proud of you. Now shut up foot and hips and get better.

  2. Obviously, awesomeness has its price.

Leave a Reply

