You know. Just building stuff and participating in shenanigans.

It’s been rather busy around these parts as of late. I looked at the calendar the other day and realized that Claire starts school in less than a month, so we decided to start doing all the things. Which really makes no sense whatsoever because once she starts school I’ll have only 3 kids to take care of during the day, thus in theory, my day should be easier.

I’m assuming, though, that Claire is such an asset around the house that it’ll take a huge adjustment from all of us to be without her.

Seriously.

So any how, we started doing a lot of things.

Last week, I took the kids to the science center with my friend Jen.

That’s always a good time, and by having a membership with my brood, going twice really pays for itself.

We boxed.

009

Claire lost her third tooth.

008So now they’re toothless twinsies.

Audrey sat there and looked cute.

006

I attempted to get a photo with all four kids in it and this is what I ended up with.

014Totally frame worthy.

Luca did what Luca does best – loves his sister.

026I built a custom closet organizer for Audrey’s (soon to be Luca’s) bedroom. This required us to all go to Lowes. You know, all five of us. But it turned out to be a really good thing. I basically had a personal shopper. I think mostly it was because the kid didn’t want to do real work, and cutting 3/4 x 4 x 8’s down to 16 inch strips, four feet long made him much happier.

007Wonder how much I could sell them for?

But the closet turned out pretty good.

003

You know, after I sanded it and painted it.

001You know what I hate more than painting? Painting furniture that has tiny little crevices. In white. Where all the imperfections show. But you know what? It’s for a friggin’ closet. It’s sturdy, because let’s face it, that piece ain’t moving anywhere. Ever. (Sorry future owners of this house.) But it works, it’ll hold stuff and in a few years it’ll be scuffed up beyond recognition.

I do look forward to that.

Best of all? It cost me 100 bucks all total. Try pricing a custom closet organizer for less than 400. I dare you. Sure, I used MDF, but most things are made with that unless you’re paying top dollar for real wood.

I figured, I’ve built enough IKEA furniture in my life that I could totally make that. Once everything was cut to size and pilot holes were drilled it was like assembling anything from that joint minus the mini allen wrench.

I finally got around to making curtain tie backs using Matt’s late great aunt’s old tea spoons. We got maybe 3 different sets from her, so I figured why not use it instead of letting it just gather dust in the basement. I only bled once and smashed my thumb twice in the process. It took me 10 minutes to do this, too. So that’s a win. Oh, and free!

002So now I’m just waiting on a quote to move the washer and dryer upstairs into a hall closet and another quote to build a storage shed under our second deck and pour concrete. It’ll be so nice to finally have that outside space done for real instead of having that mud pit that currently occupies the space.

You know, in time for winter.

In the mean time I’m absolutely loving the weather today. 72 degrees and not a cloud in the sky. I can have all the windows open and not sit in a puddle of sweat.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go listen to Billy Idol sing Scream to me so I can teach it tonight for RPM. 

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on July 25, 2013, in Cassie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. It’s strange to me how much I like your home improvement posts. Maybe I secretly hope to own an apartment someday? It’s not strange to me how much I love the photos of the kids. Mae is still amazing. But Audrey sure is hard not to love.

  2. I am ashamed at how much better my mood is because of this cool weather. But it is. And you are a domestic goddess.

  3. I am continually impressed by your building skills and I am totally going to use that Lowe’s cart to haul my children around.

    SO JEALOUS OF YOUR WEATHER. Pittsburgh needs to be my summer home.

Leave a Reply

