Ha ha, yah no.

Today during nap time, I heard some noises coming from Luca and Mae’s room. When I walked in the room, I saw a shadow of Luca standing on the side of Mae’s bed, slowly leaning towards her head.

His head turned immediately towards me and the open door and he jumped. He then got down and came out of the room and looked at the floor, caught in action and ashamed.

I brought him into my room and asked him what in the hell he thought he was doing.

You know what he was doing?

He was trying to cause Mae to wake up in such a way that it wouldn’t get pinned back to him and then his ‘nap time’ could be over.

What a little shit.

Smart. But a little shit.

It all of a sudden made sense to me. Mae had been waking up awfully early from naps and had been quite moody the past few weeks. So I wonder how long this has been going on.

Matt suggested we put Audrey in Mae’s room sooner rather than later.

I said heck no. Then Luca would win. He doesn’t get to win. I win. I always win.

See, he naps maybe three times a week anymore. And that’s fine. But he has a lingering cough and I knew he needed some sleep. Maybe I needed him to sleep, I don’t know. Either way, he didn’t sleep, but more importantly, he didn’t listen. Again.

And I’m over it.

I told him that he didn’t get to go outside and climb the tree the rest of the day and then I said what no kid wants to hear, “You will be the first one to go to bed tonight.”

We went to the gym, everything was cool and fine. We then ate dinner and after I told him to go upstairs and get ready for bed.

He looked at me, clearly not having forgotten, but he obviously had hoped I had. Um, no, kid. I am also a second child. We don’t forget anything.

When I went upstairs to check on his progress, a good three minutes later, he was in Claire’s room. Again, not listening.

He actually thought that I wasn’t going to follow through. He was testing me.

It was 8:15. He asked if Mae was coming. I said no. He asked if he could stay up. I said no. He dragged his feet finding his blanket, I threatened to take it away.

Finally, he got into bed and made some fake whimpers. I asked him why he was in bed before everyone else. He said, “Because I woke Mae up and I didn’t listen.”

I asked him what he could do to make it better. He said, “I can let Mae sleep.”

A novel idea, little dude.

He said it wasn’t fun going to bed before everyone else. I said, “Sure it’s not. So if you do what you did today, this’ll be your tomorrow, too. You get to make that choice.”

He got the point.

When Matt put the girls to bed 45 minutes later, he said Luca didn’t move. Either he was actually asleep or he knew better than to even attempt to push it.

Lesson learned? Stay tuned.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on July 31, 2013, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Waiting for today’s installment of Luca’s naptime adventures. Did he learn his lesson?

  2. One of the most uttered phrases in our house? “Mom and dad ALWAYS win.” Good luck!

  3. The kids’ jobs are to test us. Glad to see luca’s doing so well! 😉

  4. Smart and naughty little dude!
    “Um, no, kid. I am also a second child. We don’t forget anything.” Ain’t that the trutz (says another second child…)

Leave a Reply

