Wishes

I have the hardest time asking for help. Maybe it’s because I don’t need much? Or maybe it’s because I’m stubborn.

I’m going to assume it’s the latter.

When I first set out to find families in need and help them this holiday season, I was so excited thinking it was practically gift wrapped for me. Families with practically nothing! I mean, they’d need a lot, right? I wanted to help them fill their home with practical items, showing them that YES! people do care.

I really, really wanted this to be huge.

But then, the families basically said they couldn’t think of much that they’d need. Maybe a vacuum cleaner and some winter boots. And if we don’t mind, perhaps some bed sheets.

We tried to get them to elaborate more, but they simply wouldn’t. And I respect that. I really, honestly do.

So Virginia asked if we could take on a third family, a single mom with three kids – two of which are special needs.

She said they’d ask for a lot, because they need a lot.

I said HECK YES. BRING. IT. ON.

Guys. The list was huge. I had the most fun making the wish list on Amazon.

And I’m, perhaps, being very (overly?) ambitious.

So, I put on all the things the first two families asked for and then went to town for the third family, filling my list with dishes, silverware, winter coats, undies, socks, bed sheets, pillows, blankets…the list goes on and on.

And they really need this stuff, guys.

So here’s how it works. If you’re new to this and didn’t do the Great Animal Rescue League Donation Drive of 2012, then this is all new to you. So I have a wishlist of items that the families desperately need. That’s where you come in. You can pick one item or ten items, and they will all be shipped to my house. I’ll hold them safely until we do the big drop, sometime around Thanksgiving/Christmas. The date has yet to be determined. Though, since we have items like winter coats and boots on the list, I’m thinking more along the lines of Thanksgiving. And that’s it!

Though, please, if you want to remain anonymous, that’s cool, but I’d love to know who to thank. So when you get to the checkout page, please write a gift message.

Where do we go from here?

CLICK HERE!

And thanks in advance.

Also, if anyone has an iPod they’d like to donate, the 14 year old girl would love one for Christmas. If I can get one donated, then I can get them a bigger gift card for groceries.
 

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on September 18, 2013, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It’s so funny that you don’t ask for help for yourself but your kind soul will ask for help on behalf of others. I’m the same way and I’m glad to help out. You give all of us to experience that good feeling!

  1. Pingback: "Things" | Zen Bag Lady

Leave a Reply

