Taken for granted

So a friend of mine wanted to buy a microwave for the family in need. I had one listed on the wishlist, but she found one on another site, that was even higher rated and for a great deal. She said it’d be at my doorstep on Friday, and could I please take the other microwave off the list?

Sure I could, but at the time I was with Mae getting her forehead glued shut, so I couldn’t right away.

Maybe an hour or two between the time that my friend ordered a different microwave to the point I got home to take it off the list, someone had already purchased it.

So I had two microwaves. This isn’t a horrible problem to have, of course, but I felt bad, because only one family requested it. So I contacted Virginia, the wonderful woman I’ve been working with, and asked if she could see if the other women could use one.

She wrote to me today, both of them could.

I went back to the list and added another microwave.

All three families will have a microwave this winter whether it’s purchased by someone or I use the spinathon money for it.

I was talking with Matt about it tonight, and I was looking over the list and I was excited to see more items purchased. (THANKS!!) And I got super excited over the glassware. He gave me a sideways look, as if to say, why would someone be so excited about glassware?

Listen. I don’t know about your situation or where you’re at, but I used my microwave today – twice. I drank from my glasses all day and I put them in a dishwasher. Everyday things, that we take for granted! I’ve said this before, but I’ll say it again. Look around you. Just look.

I’ve been there. For a short time, I was there. I remember one Christmas where my mom could only afford to buy us a Beanie Baby and a note with a promise for more some day. I remember it as clear as if it was yesterday.

Can you imagine, telling your kids that they aren’t getting gifts this Christmas? Can you do that without feeling both the sadness of failure and the crushed look on your kids faces? That feeling that you can’t even spare five dollars to give your kids a toy?

Look, I know we all have our own struggles. But for most of us, it’s nothing like that. I know my kids will have a warm bed to sleep in. I know my heat will be on and paid for all winter long. I know that I will have a nice warm winter coat, some super warm boots and the knowledge that after shoveling snow, I’ll get hot chocolate.

When we drive our cars and fill our gas tanks and don’t rely solely on public transportation, we forget things like bus fares and cold bus stops.We forget that when we have a cold, all we have to do is buy some NyQuil and sleep it off, but some people have to suck it up and suffer.

I know I can’t save the world. But for as long as I can remember, I’ve tried to at least make it better.

My kids will never know what it’s like to not have gifts at Christmas. Ever. But at the same time, I’ll never forget what it felt like to be the kid with very little.

That’s why I do this.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on September 24, 2013, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Keep on keeping on. We need more people to be so thankful that they will happily share with others.

Leave a Reply

