Painting and purging

Matt and I have made a startling discovery.
photo 1 (4)Kids have a ton of shit.

Matt came up with this fantastic idea that all the kids clothes needed to be organized. Like, this very moment.

I wasn’t thrilled.

But I, surprisingly, didn’t complain too much. Mostly because I knew that the Cassie who had ‘organized’ all that stuff prior wasn’t the Cassie of today who is actually a good organizer.

So basically it’s all my fault it was an absolute wreck of clothing.

However. I didn’t like this.

photo 2 (3)

Or this.

messAnd the four hours it took us to organize all of that. BUT! Through it, we not only organized all the clothes, but I found a bunch of maternity clothes that I will NEVER EVER EVER EVER NEED AGAIN, that I have a wonderful friend in need of, boy winter coats that we will donate to the health center patients, we found the missing 9-12 month clothes for Audrey and a few winter coats for her and some old blankets and towels to donate to the Animal Rescue League.

So yah, yah, yah. It was beneficial. And maybe I feel a little better. And perhaps we didn’t have any official plans for the day, but still.

Was it fun?

Yah, no. It wasn’t. So thank god it’s done.

Though, during all this, Claire, Luca and Mae entertained themselves. At one point Mae was in jail, they were brave knights, they used lego play boxes as armor and I think I overheard something along the lines of “Super Darby” on the ceiling saving the day.

I think that’s my favorite part about my kids, their imagination.

But before the great purge, I had the kids paint some frames for the hallway. Audrey got to paint for the very first time, too.

At first she was all, WTF, ma?

007Then she realized it was awesome.

014So she smashed it and sang it a song.

019So that was fun.

Then Luca helped me bake bread and that was my Sunday afternoon.

034

 

 

 

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on October 27, 2013, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Ah, yes, the organizing… I should do that with my own clothes, I really should.
    Love Audrey’s determined “NO!”. her cheeks are adorable! And Luca looks so proud and happy… but somehow, to me, they both have changed a bit, grown a bit?

  2. If you tackled that anything like you tackled my house, then I know it’s all awesome.

  3. Hope that stove was off, or Luca was going to be making some hot cross buns.

  4. Little kids are so willing to paint with food, but they get all prim and proper around paint. Well, at first… mind the walls!

Leave a Reply

