SPINATHON WINS ALL THE THINGS!

Guys! GUYS!!! Guess what? Today was the spinathon and it couldn’t have gone better if I had tried. I mean, people showed up, people were generous, no one got injured and more importantly we had fun!

Here’s a recap:

TWO people did all seven hours. TWO. That’s insanity.

One person did SIX hours.

I think, and don’t quote me, but I think four people did three hours.

There were A LOT of people who did two hours, too.

During hour four I got out the alcohol I bought for the three crazies doing six and seven hours and plopped it on the floor in front of their bikes, as a sort of inspiration. I got seven Twisted Teas for one, seven Mike’s Hard Lemonade variety pack for the other, and a six pack of Yuengling for the last. One for every hour.

It’s the least I could do, man.

When all was said and done, we tried counting the money, but we were all exhausted. So when I got home, I handed Matt the giant wad of money and he counted it out.

photo 2 (4)Add that up with the gift cards we also got and the total came to 2270!

I’m floored. I set out with a lofty goal of 2k and we blew it out of the water. Incredible.

So, naturally, I did what anyone would do after feeling the stress of planning, executing, and spinning in a spinathon would do – after the shower – I went shopping.

So far I’ve only spent 90 dollars, but still!

What did I get, you ask? I got a coat for the mom of three. She needed a winter coat, and finding a 4x coat is very difficult. So I ordered her one from Old Navy. While there (online), I got the 14 year old four tops. Because she is also plus sized, her mother could only afford for her clothes to come from the men’s department, I thought she could use some tops. Her favorite color is purple. So I delivered.

Later tonight I’m going to order the last remaining NEEDED items (the items they asked for but hadn’t yet received off the wishlist.)

photo 1 (5)That’s just one sheet of three!

The 14 year old is getting the iPod she wanted.

Her mother is getting the jammie set and slippers she wanted.

The 12 year old is getting the Barbies she asked for, a rainbow loom, and a game for the Wii. She’s also getting a donated iPod.

The 10 year old is getting matchbox cars, some Tonka trucks, mini machinery toys, a copy of Luca’s favorite book “Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site,” and I still need to grab him one more toy.

The 6 year old is getting a headband making kit, a friendship bracelet making kit, a bead bracelet making kit, and a Disney barbie.

Their mother is getting a practically brand new donated DVD player and that winter coat she so badly wanted.

The single lady, suffering with cancer is getting a microwave, TWO pairs of boots, gloves and a scarf made by my sister.

I’d say that’s a pretty Merry Christmas.

There’s a bunch of other things that will be purchased, but that’s the highlights. New glassware, silverware, sheets, pillows, toasters, vacuums….the list goes on and on.

I’m getting books donated to me to give to the kids, too.

All because of you guys. Almost 4000 dollars in goods and money raised for these three families.

It’s November. The month to be thankful. I’m so very, very thankful. I’m overwhelmed in the best possible way. I’m humbled by kindness. I’m blown away by every single one of you who gave.

One of the members, after spinning for SEVEN HOURS said to me, “After I was kicked out of my house by my ex husband with my five year old son, we had very little. And when Christmas came, I had nothing to give him. When I opened my door, there was wrapped gifts for us, and a brand new bike. I don’t know who gave those things, or why, but I’m forever thankful, and blessed that I can do what I did today for someone who was once like me.”

I just don’t even know what more to say about it.

Thank you.

Thank you so much.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on November 10, 2013, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oh Cassie. Sometimes I struggle so much with what is going on in the world, and then something like this happens. You and all the other good, kind and amazing people out there make me cry right now. A good start to the day … and those families will have a wonderful Christmas – not only because of the presents (which are awesome!), but especially because of the kindness they come wrapped in and the knowledge that someone cared!
    So thank YOU!

  2. Seven hours on a bike makes my butt hurt just thinking about it.

    Congratulations on such an overwhelming success! I know those families will enjoy their special gifts. I hope you drank seven alcoholic beverages as well. Or maybe eight. You get an extra for all that planning.

Leave a Reply

