Dear ………….

Dear ……….

You’re probably wondering why I’m doing this. The answer really is as simple as this – I really wanted to.

No, I’m not affiliated with any church. While I was raised Christian, and I do believe, I haven’t been in years.

You see, I was raised by a single mother. She worked so hard to provide what she could for my sister and me. But she couldn’t always make it happen and sometimes we just had to make do. We never lived in fancy houses or rode in expensive cars and our dishes were all mismatched. But as a kid, it didn’t matter to me. I don’t really remember all of that. What I do remember was seeing my mom sad sometimes and that maybe she thought that she had ¬†failed us.

She never failed us.

Every now and again we all need a reminder that kindness is everywhere. It doesn’t have to be some major driving factor, just a want to feel good. I know that when I crawl into my bed at night under my warm blankets and my head’s on a soft pillow, I feel good. When I get brand new socks, I feel good. Having a fridge full of groceries makes me feel good.

I just wanted someone else to feel that way, too.

Have a wonderful thanksgiving and a very merry Christmas.

My letter to the mothers.

Posted on November 11, 2013, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m sending this to a dad I know. Happy Holidays!!! (PS I’ve said this for years as it’s always been my favorite, not because it’s PC or inoffensive. I just like it better!)

Leave a Reply

