A jail, boat, bunk bed and castle

Three weeks ago Mae fell off one of the counter stools and a screw fell out and I threw my hands up and said enough. They were garbage and I knew it, but they were just for the kids, so whatever. They didn’t have to be amazing, just functional.

They stopped being functional, so I sucked it up and ordered nice upholstered leather stools that work for everyone.

But that’s not what this story is about.

It’s about the cardboard boxes they came in. Two weeks ago when they arrived from UPS, we put them together and shoved the boxes aside. Audrey was using it to help her stand and we left it there.

Those boxes are still there. It’s not because I’m lazy (this time,) it’s because the kids have had such a good time playing with them that I haven’t the heart to recycle them.

image

So far they have been a jail, a slide, a boat, safe ground from the lava below, the batcave, a reading nook, bunk beds, a castle, a Darbie dreamhouse, and a fire truck.

image

Oh, and a trampoline.

My head hurts when I think of all the money we waste every year on toys and such at birthdays and Christmas. Though, to be quite honest, we really don’t spend much at all, but even so, a box. The kids have had more fun with a box than they have with half the things they own.

My kids have incredible imaginations. I’m constantly in awe of how Mae and Luca take their plastic dinosaurs and somehow have a game that lasts for hours.

image

Sure, they nag me all the time to play video games and what-not, but I simply tell them no and guess what? They figure out something else to do that requires imagination and thought.

image

Right now I can hear Luca playing with his Legos in his room and having a great time.

Seriously wish I could be more like that.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on January 23, 2014, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!

  2. Where do children get the idea that the floor is LAVA? Burning hot lava? How many children are exposed to burning hot lava? And yet, it’s universal. We played that too, when I was a child. Some things never change. 🙂

  3. Love it! But seriously, what is it with children and cardboard boxes? My sister and I were obsessed with them, too. And dito to what redpenmamapgh said about the lava – we didn’t even have a television when I was a child and we still played that…
    I think we should all be a little more like kids in that we all long for so many things but can certainly have a great time with less! And I would love to have a little more imaginative play in my life – I wonder if my colleagues would be up for it???

Leave a Reply

