pushing through

I’m a stubborn person. This isn’t news to anyone. I frequently push the envelope because it’s just in my nature. I don’t know really how to go at speed normal.

It’s really not going to change any time soon.

Anyhow, I’m sick. No big deal, just a cold, but when I have ten million things to do, I don’t have time for this nonsense.

Matt’s been sick for a week or something, and I thought at that point I had evaded it. But when Saturday hit, and I looked at my calendar and I had five things scheduled for the day, my throat started to hurt.

Ugh.

Saturday was very busy. I started by running a 5k with Claire. It was her first, and she managed to place second in the 15 and under age group with a time of 32:51. After we got a victory breakfast, then got home, I quick changed and went to the Animal Rescue League. I met my friend, who is piloting a volunteer program called a Dog Jog where we physically jog with the shelter dogs. I had to go over my working orientation by going through the motions and paperwork, and learning how to actually get the dogs in and out of their kennels, because that’s a treat in and of itself.

After that, I quickly got home, changed AGAIN, and brought Claire to her two hour Taekowndo practice for her upcoming demo presentation, this Saturday. Luckily, it was a beautiful day, so the instructors opted to have class outside at the Riverside Park. But as I sat there, I felt the cold settling in my throat, my sinuses, my ears.

When I got home, I sat in my chair and tried to read, but ended up falling asleep for five minutes.

I think Matt laughed at me.

Then I had to get Mae ready and in full makeup for her recital.

It was beautiful. She did such a lovely job. I can’t wait to be able to buy the DVD.

By the time I woke up Sunday I felt awful. But it was Father’s Day, and I’d be damned if a cold was going to ruin the kids’ plans. Claire had written up a menu for him to choose his breakfast off of, and he got to sit in the comfy chair and read Twitter while the kids helped me prepare his chocolate chip pancakes with bananas and honey. Claire boiled the water for tea, Luca mixed the pancake mix and Mae sat there and ate chocolate chips.

After I cleaned up, I got our picnic lunch ready, and we headed off to the West End Overlook for a picnic lunch. Matt and the kids played soccer and I sat in the sun, eating chips.

My body gave me the finger.

We got home a few hours later, and I went straight to bed and took a nap. Feeling somewhat refreshed, I watched the kids throw water balloons at Matt and then he chased them with the hose. We got ice cream at Emerling Ice Cream where Matt got a free cone for Father’s Day, then the kids swam in the neighbor’s pool.

I was still somewhat upright.

Yesterday morning I had to channel my inner bad ass, because on my schedule was two spin classes (one in which I was the substitute) and grocery shopping.

I unceremoniously got through the day, pride intact. I ate delicious chicken enchiladas with guacamole and was very happy when Luca surprised me and ate two. I sat and watched 24 after the kids went to bed, and that’s when it all hit me. My joints ached, my head pounded.

Matt knows me well enough to not lecture me. I’m an adult and I’m going to do what I’m going to do regardless of what people tell me to do. I know I should rest. I know I should relax. I don’t want to, and I won’t. So with the not resting or relaxing, I try to keep my complaining to a minimum. Or at least, I hope I do. While I know I’m super hypocritical at times, I honestly try not to complain when I’m sick.

I woke up this morning feeling just fine. Snotty with a cough, but fine. Personally, I think the spinning helped move it through my system faster. Maybe it’s denial, whatever. I feel fine now. I’m thankful it was short lived, and most of all, I’m thankful I got it and over with before vacation next week.

Silver linings.

 

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on June 17, 2014, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. This is written for me, isn’t it? I know you’re going to do your own thing, but you should also know that your friends may still try to mother you and fuss over you because we love you, not because we don’t trust that you know what you’re doing. Glad you are feeling better. No one, especially mothers of young children, have time to be sick!

  2. Yuck! Feel better soon!! 🙂

  3. I hope you feel better soon!
    I have the same approach as you, but sadly, my body sometimes is even more stubborn than I am. When I go full steam for too long, I get sick. And if I ignore it for too long, sometimes I get really really sick. Therefore I have (reluctantly) learned to rest at least a bit whenever it’s possible when my body tells me to.
    Two questions: Mae had a recital? Will you show us pictures?
    And: are you going away for vacation? Hope you have a wonderful time and get some rest!

Leave a Reply

