Fly with the birds

Pittsburgh is seriously one of my most favorite places. It has incredible views, amazing architecture (can we say bridges?) and some awesome kid involved activities.

We’re very lucky to have the nations only independent indoor nonprofit zoo dedicated to birds – the National Aviary of Pittsburgh. A lot of people who live here have never been – heck, have never heard of it! It’s tucked in a nice park area of the North Side, not far from Allegheny General hospital, the Children’s Museum and CCAC.

My dad is a volunteer there. In his semi-retirement, it makes the most sense. He’s been crazy about birds as long as I’ve known him, always pointing out the most random bird no matter where we were. His love for them was truly contagious. I’ve even grown to appreciate them more.

For Christmas, he promised all of us a personal tour of the Aviary. We waited until Claire was out of school, so she could join.

I’ve been to the Aviary many times, and I’ve always appreciated it, but I’ve never experienced it quite like I did yesterday.

First of all, going with a volunteer has its perks. We learned all the secrets, knew all the shows to go to and where to look.

photo 1 (20)We first went to the wetlands and fed birds worms and fish.

photo 2 (19)

photo 3 (12)

I was pretty impressed that Claire touched the fish, though no one but myself and Larry touched the worms.

During the show, a bird named Thomas got too close to Audrey’s sippy. She reached out for it and screamed, “MINE!” Thomas didn’t seem to care and continued to hop along the tray further annoying the already annoyed baby.

photo 4 (12)

 

We went to an outdoor show where we got to have birds fly over our heads and my cousin got to have a parrot land on her hand to take a dollar, in return the parrot gave up a packet of flower seeds.

Then we went to feed the Lorries.

photo 2 (20)

Mae didn’t want to touch a bird, or have one land on her, so I held her nectar cup.

photo 4 (13)

One of the Lorries landed on Luca’s head, which startled him, and caused him to drop his cup of nectar. He wasn’t happy with the Lorries anymore.

photo 5 (10)

Claire, again, proved to me how brave she was and let the Lorries land on her arm.

photo 3 (13)

Claire learned she’s about as big as an Emperor Penguin.

photo 1 (21)

They let the African Penguins follow their hands.

photo 2 (21)

And Audrey made a new friend.

photo 1 (22)

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on July 22, 2014, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. This is all so freaking precious! Reminds me a little of the Aquarium of Americas in New Orleans (it has a big bird section).

    Also, your hair looks amazing.

  2. I have to admit that I am not a big fan of aviaries, since most of the ones I have visited did not seem to comply to adequate animal housing, but this one looks and sounds really interesting! Poor Luca, he looks so unhappy… and Audrey so big!
    Did you dye your hair a darker color or is it just the light?

  3. I think the Emperor has a few pounds on Claire.

  4. I’m all agog at the size of the Emperor Penguin. I knew they were bigger than “regular” penguins…I hadn’t realized they were THAT big.

Leave a Reply

