Wait, July happened?

I got a friendly email last week from a kind, but concerned friend, wondering why it’s been relatively quiet on the posts here.

For the longest time I thought I didn’t really have much in the way of fun things to talk about. I, after all, was just living life. Going from one place to the next, crossing things off my list as I went.

But last night, as I sat in front of the computer watching the cursor blink while it waited for me to write a short six sentence synopsis, a thought came to me – for the first time in a long time, I have a lot of things to write about, I just haven’t.

Truth be told, I don’t really remember much of the month of July. I spent the beginning of it on a beach in the Outer Banks, North Carolina and the end of it at my regular spin class, feeling almost as if all the things that happened in the middle never were.

Near the end of June, I got serious at the Y in Natrona Heights and started coming in Tuesday through Friday to help coach for the first hour of a program called Summer SWEAT. What started as me just going in, with not a clue as to what would go on, ended with me now hopefully creating a program similar to it for the fall. I believed in those kids so hard, that somehow I started to believe in myself, and in my ability to mentor them. By me telling them, “You can do this,” turned into me thinking, can do this. I can be a mentor to kids, more than just an hour a day during the summer. I can be the Y.

So, what began as me following the cues of the other coaches turned into me taking the lead every now and again, to me leading these kids all on my own, and showing them what they’re capable of. All the while, me finding out what I’m capable of. Just don’t tell the kids Coach Cassie is a sap.

A few posts ago, I wrote about how the gym sold. Now, while they’re saying over and over that nothing will change and everything will remain the same, a lot of us have reason to stay on edge. I don’t know what the distant future holds for me, and I couldn’t sit there and wait.  Alexander’s will always be my first and true love. And I won’t leave there until they make me. But in the mean time, I’ve wanted more permanent classes, aside from the three I already have. At the beginning of the summer one of my regular classes was cut and when that happened, I started putting my resume out at any gym within a 20 mile radius.

What I didn’t expect was how many bites I’d get. Along with the Y, I heard from a gym in Monroeville, one in Sarver, another in Lower Burrel and just recently one in East Liberty.

As of the middle of August I’m happy to announce that I will have secured a permanent Body Pump class at Club One in East Liberty. I’m nervous and excited all at the same time. It’s change, but it’s a good change, and I couldn’t be happier. I’ve never taught in the city before. I have no idea what it holds for me. Honestly, I can’t wait to find out. I’ll still keep my feelers out elsewhere and fill in when needed (I’ve been subbing an average of 4 extra classes a week this summer on top of my regular classes,) but I’m so glad to have another place to call home.

I don’t do it because of the money. Anyone who says they do lie, because we don’t make that much. I love to teach. I love it. And this summer I’ve been doing a (hopefully) good job of getting my name out there with positive remarks.

Along with my paid gigs, I’ve been volunteering at the Animal Rescue League as a dog jogger. I’ve been going in weekday mornings (super early!) and the weekend mornings to take out shelter dogs and give them some much needed exercise. Just like the kids at the Y, these dogs need a place to let out frustrations and learn a thing or two along the way.

Yes, Julius is still there. A nice couple came in to look at him last week, and said that if he’s still there after vacation, they may come back for him. Fingers crossed, but of course I’m not holding my breath. Until then, we keep running. I took him for a 3 1/2 mile loop last weekend and by the end, I was saying to him, “Not talking such a big game now, huh? HUH?”

Then he saw a robin and darted after it, and I ate crow.

juliuslove

Along with all the volunteering and teaching and coaching, the kids have had soccer, tae kwon do, dance, tumbling…

We also have five tiny kittens and a mama cat that we’re fostering. Good times.

It’s been a tiring, but amazing month. Big changes are happening and I’m okay with that. In another month, Luca and Claire will be going off to school, and it’ll quiet down here. At the rate things have been shifting here, I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s completely different again.

Again, I’m okay with that.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on July 31, 2014, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I can’t possibly think of a better mentor for kids, than you.

  2. I think that is the best part of teaching, no matter what it is that you are teaching: that the persons who teaches learns so much about her-/himself, in many different ways.
    And I love that you own your life – you make decisions, you live life deliberately, you try to change the world (step by step) and you try to do good. Rock on!

  3. So proud of you! Way to be an awesome role model for those kids and all the potential animal adopters out there.

Leave a Reply

