I won’t ever see him again!

Today, while sitting on the couch reading a really good book, (Triptych by Karin Slaughter) I got a text from my friend Mary telling me that Julius was being adopted that very moment.

Then a friend on Facebook posted to my page that he was being adopted.

Then I got a phone call from another friend saying he was being adopted.

And it was all over the Dog Walkers Facebook page. Even one volunteer posted: So glad – he needed to get out and into a home. Someone tell his dog jogger! She will be thrilled.

I wrote back saying, “THAT’S MEEEEEEE!!!!”

See, obviously we know my affection towards this dog. I love him. Love.

He has a new home. The only thing I know about his adopter is that he’s a younger guy. Hopefully he’s full of energy that he wants to burn. Because Julius is a good dog, smart even, but he’s full of energy.

But truthfully, I’m going to miss him.

Goodbye to a dog who made me look forward to 7 am runs.

photo 2 (22)

Goodbye to a dog who gave me a crash course in shelter dog care.

Goodbye to a dog who was a gentle giant, except when he was first put on a leash, because he’s strong and pulls.

juliuslove

Goodbye to a dog who kept me up at night, thinking about him laying lonely in his kennel. Wondering why time after time he was picked over.

Goodbye to a dog who made me have a real and honest conversation with my husband about my needs vs his needs regarding animals.

Goodbye to a dog who gave me joy each and every time we ran together. Who didn’t quit. Who pushed me. Who took my verbal cues and made our experiences awesome.

photo 1 (23)

Goodbye to my friend.

I hope you have a wonderful life with your new owner and he runs with you the way you deserve. And if for some reason he doesn’t see what an amazing dog he just adopted, then you come on over to my house. We just won’t tell Matt.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on August 11, 2014, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I was so glad to see your FB post about Julius being adopted! You really needed a win.

  2. I’ve never been SO happy to read such a sad goodbye!!!

  3. Yay! SUCH great news!
    I don’t know who I’m happier for, you or Julius … 😉

  4. YAY!!! This makes me so happy!!!

Leave a Reply

