Ice, Ice, Baby

The very first spinathon I ever hosted was for a friend of mine’s friend, Dan. Dan suffered, and later lost his battle from ALS. I’m sure you’ve seen all over the internet, this new thing, celebrities dumping buckets of ice water on top of their heads.

A lot of people have been asking why? What does dumping water on top of your head accomplish?

There are a lot of reasons why this is a thing. One, it brings up awareness. Kids these days probably don’t have even the slightest idea what Lou Gherig’s disease is. As a nurse, I’ve only first hand witnessed it twice. It was awful to see. The mind sharp, the body useless. It is a disease of the nerve cells in the brain and spinal cord that control voluntary muscle movement. Over time, it causes you to slowly die, and you are aware the entire time.

By dumping a cold bucket of water on your head, for the briefest of moments, you have an idea of what it feels like to be paralyzed, yet aware.

I was challenged by my friend Dave to do the ice bucket challenge.

I happily did it, but instead of donating my money to the ALS foundation (where from what I gather, is wonderful, but a lot of people with the actual disease don’t see the money,) to a person who is directly suffering. Here’s the link if you’re so inclined to help.

So now that we’re done with the heavy, here’s the funny. My actual video footage of my ice bucket challenge.

Not only did I do it, but Claire did as well. And, well, because she’s good at being my shadow, so did Audrey -but that was completely involuntary on her part. Sadie even tried to get in on the fun.

So without further ado, watch me freeze my ass off in an effort to help people see that ALS is a terrible, awful, no good disease that needs to be seen, learned, understood. No one should have to suffer this way. Never. So please take the moment to educate yourself on it, laugh at me, and maybe throw a few bucks this guy’s way. Medical bills stack up and it’s a huge stress on the family. It’s not fair. At all.

 

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on August 13, 2014, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The part with Audrey is THE BEST. Poor girl.

  2. Oh, poor Audrey … And that must have been so coooold!!!
    My aunt had a similar disease. As a kid I did not think too much of it, I only ever knew her the way she was at the end – lying in bed, unable to control her body (even the eye-movement), unable to speak.
    When I got older, and heard more stories about her as a young woman who liked to paint, write, and play theatre, it was horrible to realize that for all we knew she might have been totally aware of everything going on and not be able to communicate with anybody. Imprisoned in her own body. That is still something I struggle with.
    Thanks for raising awareness for diseases like ALS!

Leave a Reply

