Dear Claire

Dear Claire,

I never really thought much about being a parent. I just really wanted a baby; something of my own that would love me through all my flaws. Somebody who would need me in a way that’s not obsessive.

What you have given me was more than I ever imagined. More than what I have ever dreamed of. While, yes, I didn’t think much about what I was going to get, Claire, you are the reason why I have four children that I love dearly. You gave me confidence that I could be the kind of parent that can raise a good child. You showed me how to be fair and reasonable. Because of that, I knew I could do it again.

Today I looked at you, and my breath caught. I don’t understand how you are seven already. I’m always at a loss of where the time goes. You tell me stories and your words are clearer. You write me letters, and you read me books, and I shake my head because you were just toddling up to me saying, “Book, mama! Book!”

You’re still in there – that baby I held every night. The little girl that I sang songs with and danced to Billy Joel in the dim light. The one who climbed up on my lap whenever I was sad and asked for hugs. The baby who didn’t want me out of her sight. The girl who held my hand until one day decided she could run. The one who looked at me and said, “I want to be just like you.”

I know where the time has gone.

Claire, we have had time well spent. Because of you, I am a mother. Because of you, I look at myself in the mirror and try to be better than I am each day, because I can be. Because of you, I am proud.

I am proud of your love for superheroes. Your fearlessness. I love that you don’t really care what anyone thinks of you. That you give any kid a chance to be your friend. You don’t discriminate and you try to involve everyone – even someone you may not usually be friends with. You listen and help and don’t give me a lot of lip. You love your siblings. You love hockey, Buccos baseball and Batman. Every day you are you, and that’s my very favorite thing.

I don’t really know who I’d be without you in my life. You changed me in a way that I am forever grateful for.

Thank you for being my daughter.

Happy birthday my little Wonder Woman.

Love,

Mama

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on October 12, 2014, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I was so impressed with Claire standing up to that bully kid for her friend. I thought, “Wow, now that’s a smart, brave girl.” Happy Birthday Claire! So happy I got to celebrate with you this year.

  2. Oh my, your letters to your kids get me every time …
    Claire sounds like such an amazing person, brave and smart, loving and empathic, confident and strong – no wonder you are so proud!

Leave a Reply

