Why?

I’m almost completely done with the Amazon.com wishlist. Thank you to all who have donated so far. I have updated it with the needs of the second family, most importantly, the boot and coats and bedding items.

I had to verify sizes. The 10 year old girl is a size 18/20 in womens, so it was hard to find a coat that would work on Amazon. It’s a real shame, the lack of variety for plus size women online.

Here is the link again.

I’m still waiting on a wishlist of gifts for the kids of family two. The mom didn’t give us one initially, because she didn’t want her kids to think that it won’t happen for them. I don’t blame her for being skeptical. I would be, too. But if I know myself and everyone who helps, we will make sure these kids will have a great Christmas. Because they’re kids, and kids can’t help it if their parents aren’t getting along. They can’t go to work for their mom and dad. They didn’t ask to be different from all the other kids. So this is for them. All of this. It’s to show them that the world really can be a good place. That there are people out there who care about them, and we never have to even meet.

It’s about knowing that sometimes we need a little extra help. They’re not a charity case. They never asked for help. I sought them out. I did it because I can. Because I know how to ask for help. I do it, because, what if that was my sister? Or my mother? Or what if I was the one who had nowhere to go? What would I tell my kids? How would I explain to them that there wasn’t going to be any gifts under the tree? What would I do when they came home from school, sad, because everyone was talking about what they were asking Santa for, but Santa didn’t love them? How? I know life is more about things and toys, but when you’re a kid, you don’t understand that. And they shouldn’t have to understand that.

I know I always say thank you over and over, but honest. Thank you. I don’t know what else to say. Two years ago when I started this, I had no idea what we would be able to accomplish. Truth be told, I couldn’t do a thing of it without people willing to part with some of their hard earned money. I appreciate it especially because times are tough for some, you guys continue to come through for me. It means more than you’ll ever know. You guys are the reason it happens.

Thank you.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on October 27, 2014, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. So great you are doing this for these families. I hope people continue to respond and give. I’ll keep spreading the word! When is your deadline to finish ordering?

    • I’m going to say until November 22nd. I’d like to have the items to them before Thanksgiving if possible. Maybe the week after.

      On Mon, Oct 27, 2014 at 4:57 PM, Sisters From Different Misters wrote:

      >

  2. The thanks go to you. You do all the work. All I did was go to the link. And I get to feel good about doing good.

Leave a Reply

