The Roller Coaster Ride

I’m not sure how much more of this all I can take. In the past few days I’ve been on this roller coaster ride that’s taken me to super low lows and really high highs. I’m fortunate thus far that the lows happen first, then I’m perked up with the highs, but ugh. My psyche can’t take much more.

Friday Claire came home early from school because she didn’t feel well. She perked up some Saturday, and we were able to go to the Penguins game. She had won tickets through the Animal Rescue League from her fundraising and she was determined to go.

Sunday night, she had a rash, but Matt never told me. I noticed it Monday morning, but it wasn’t horrible, just looked like goose bumps.

Monday my cat, Boss, did the strangest thing. When I picked her up, it looked like her jaw had come unhinged. She seemed well enough, because it went back to normal and I went about my day.

Tuesday morning, Matt was short on time, so instead of taking the dogs for a walk, he threw the ball around for them. He came back in a minute later saying, “Well, that was quick.”

Beau was limping, so I gave him his old man supplements (glucosamine and the like) and made him lay down.

I said, “Poor old guy.”

Then Matt said, “You think that’s bad, you should see Boscoe.”

I went outside, and there she was sitting, unable to close her mouth, drool dripping down, so miserable looking. I scooped her up and immediately put her in a cat carrier. Matt called around and our old vet had an opening immediately, so I rushed her over.

She had a huge abscess and her tooth was completely rotted. She’s had perpetual bad breath for the past month, and I’ve meant to have it looked at, but of course I have five animals, four kids, this, that, and everything else to worry about, she sort of got put on the back burner. I know better. I know bad breath in cats (I’m talking, smelled like literal shit) means tooth issues. I know. Yet I didn’t do anything. And now, I was left with a cat who was in incredible amounts of pain and needed emergency surgery. The vet then said, “This could also be a tumor. We will know more when we get in there.”

I felt like the worst cat mom ever. Ever.

But I let them take her away, where they immediately gave her pain meds. I can’t even begin to express how awful and uncomfortable my poor girl looked. It literally happened overnight. She showed no major signs of this, just the bad breath. I was amazed.

Then I got the bill estimate.

Gulp.

How was I going to give my kids Christmas?

Granted, we were doing a down sized Christmas anyhow. Matt and I are making the kids’ gifts this year, but lumber is still expensive and when you’re staring down at a bill that could end up being half the mortgage payment…yikes.

I cried all day. I cried for my cat. I cried for my bank account. I really hit the bottom.

But the vet called me as soon as she finished up with Boss’s procedure and said that it wasn’t cancer and her teeth are now sparkling clean, and when they pulled out the one tooth, two others fell out. So she got stitched up, given extra happy juice and I could pick her up at 6.

Well, I teach Tuesday nights at 6, so Matt went to pick her up. On my way home from teaching, I called him and asked how much the damage was.

He said, “Don’t you know? It was already paid for when I picked her up.”

“I didn’t leave a credit card with them. How was it paid for?”

“What?” then a pause, then a laugh, “It was paid for in cash.”

In cash.

I have very good friends.

I went to bed last night saying, “They went to the vet’s office. Asked how much my bill was. Handed them cash. Went home. I just….I’ve never had someone do that for me before. Ever.”

Matt just smiled and said, “Me either.”

010

(I love that photo because Boss is SO high right there.)

This morning started out normal. I told my BodyPump class about the kindness that happened to me yesterday and said I was going to be passing it along. I asked them to do the same. They were all like I was, they couldn’t believe it. It’s an amazing thing.

I had to take Claire to her orthodontist appointment right after. When I went to pick her up, I noticed her rash had traveled to her face.

That’s not good.

So I called her doctor’s office, but they couldn’t get her in until 1. I wasn’t going to sit around waiting for that time with two angry toddlers, so after her appointment, we went to MedExpress in Aspinwall. Lucky for me, my friend works next door, so he came over and entertained the angry girls while I dealt with Claire.

Yup, you guessed it, she’s got strep throat.

Another low.

I got the girls home, fed them lunch, gave Claire her meds, shuffled them off to naps, then plopped on the couch for a minute to myself before I tackled the ridiculous pile of laundry.

Not two minutes after I sat down, did the dogs go nuts. FedEx dropped a package off for me.

But I didn’t order anything.

It was from a flower company.

When I opened it, there was a note:

006

And the flowers:

005

 

I really, really have some amazing friends.

But stop making me cry!

 

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on December 10, 2014, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’m so so so glad Boss is ok. I’ve been there with the animal whose outlook looks terrible and the giant bill. I know the kids are still sick, but I hope things keep picking up. You have lots of friends who love you, even if we live far away!

  2. Your friends are wonderful and amazing! (As are you …)
    I hope Claire gets well soon, and Boss’ breath still smells … well … as good as a cat’s breath can smell, I guess?
    Did I miss your birthday? I feel like I should know it after so many years reading your blog, but I would have thought it was still to come … Anyway: Happy belated birthday!!!

  3. Way to go, Jess!

    I’m glad there are people around who are looking out for you, Cassie. Look at that shoe, over there on the other foot…

Leave a Reply

