Wishes for babies

Late last year, my best friend Jessica sent me a text. She was pregnant. She was nervous but excited, and we celebrated via no wine and lots of emojis.

A little while later, she called. Jess doesn’t call often. We are more down to text or gchat, so when I saw I had a missed call from her, I freaked out.

Twins.

She’s due in a few weeks, and in April I’ll go down there to play nanny for a long weekend so she can get a little rest and I can spoil her two big kids, Sarah and Norah.

Her baby shower was this past weekend, and it killed me I couldn’t be there. One of the activities was to finish a sentence. I think that’s such a great idea, so I thought I’d play, too.

Wishes For Babies

I hope that you always love life. There will be times where it’s not the greatest, and you may not like it, but you two may not realize this yet, but you’re so lucky. Don’t get caught up in the day to day, and remember there’s always a bigger picture.

I hope you have your mom’s loyalty. Your mom is one of my favorite people in the world. She is always there for me, and I’m not just saying that. Always. Every time. No matter how silly.

I hope you have your dad’s quiet presence. He has a very calming nature about him, because he listens. Always remember to listen.

I hope you learn that it’s good to make mistakes. A lot of them. But learn from them.

I hope you aren’t afraid to fail. Failure has happened to me so many times, but each time I’ve failed, I’ve gotten back up, more determined. It’s important to remember that. To remember that with failure comes success, and sometimes a few good laughs.

I hope you love to sing and dance. And be silly.

I hope you laugh all of the time.

I hope you never forget to breathe. Sometimes life is going to get pretty rough. It’s just the way it goes. But remember to breathe, because sometimes you can’t fix everything. Sometimes things are just going to be hard. Breathe, then ask for help.

I hope you respect your bodies. Guys, take it from me, you need to treat yourself well. You need to know your worth, and you need to know your limits. Push yourself, but don’t abuse yourself.

I hope you become the best version of yourself. Right now, your mom and dad have big dreams for you two. I want you to take those dreams, make them your own, and then surprise yourself.

I hope you grow and grow and grow. And that when you stop growing tall, you keep growing wise. You come from a family of very smart people. Kind people. And now you two are one of those people. Grow into who you need to be, and know that I will always be here for you. Both of you.

Love always,

Cassie

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on February 24, 2015, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

