Tuesday Mornings

Last week I was asked by one of the gyms I work at, if I could start a new spin class at their Fox Chapel location on Tuesday mornings. I had recently told her I couldn’t teach the class she offered me on Saturday mornings, so I figured I’d take the time to honestly consider, because I hate saying no, and I do love to teach.

So I took pause, and smiled, because, this is exactly what I’ve wanted. To be wanted and trusted to start more classes at gyms I teach at. They have dozens of instructors, but she asked me. That’s a good sign that I’m doing well for myself.

I told her I’d think about it, because that’s another pretty big obligation. A lot of dragging of children to places for one hour and a few dollars, when you get right down to it.

It was spring break, and I like to view that as a preview of what’s to come at summer time. Read: annoying.

Yesterday, I kindly turned down the class for two very good reasons:

1.) Bringing four kids to gyms six classes a week is enough at this point.
2.) I love my Tuesday mornings.

I currently teach six classes a week, in four days. Granted, this is only my scheduled classes, as I sub a lot, too. Last week alone, I taught 9 classes.

A typical schedule for me looks like this:

Monday: BodyPump at 9:30, RPM at 5.
Tuesday: RPM at 6.
Wednesday: BodyPump at 9:10.
Thursday: BodyPump at 8:30 and BodyPump at 5:30.

Now don’t get all, “That’s too much to do in one day,” on me. I know my limits and I really enjoy it. I lighten up weights on Monday and Thursday mornings, and I’m fine. FINE. Promise.

The point is, last week, I added in yoga after pump on Monday, spinning after pump on Thursday and Friday morning I filled in for pump, too. On spring break. With four kids. The kids, however, loved it. They love our gym adventures. It was me, having to physically bring them, and prod them along to get ready, because Mama’s on a schedule, that drove me nuts.

So I said thanks, but no thanks. Until my boss’s knee heals and I rid of my Thursday morning pump class that I’m covering for him, I can’t be adding in anything else. Right now, a typical Thursday morning is insane. I go from leaving the house at 7:45, teaching from 8:30-9:30 then Mae has dance class at 10. Which would be easy if I was at the gym near my house, but alas, I’m in a town that’s 20 minutes away. And the gym is huge and it takes five minutes alone just to walk from the daycare to the parking lot. Let’s just say, saying “I’m sorry we’re late again,” has become a common phrase when Mae’s entering dance class during morning stretch. Her teacher doesn’t care, but if you know me, even being 5 minutes early is late in my world.

Tuesday mornings are great, because the girls get to play in the basement and pretend that they’re big kids, all independent. Right now they’re playing what sounds like a princess game of sorts and Barbies. I get to sit upstairs at the counter with my morning smoothie and do what I want.

When it’s nicer out, we go for walks and mini adventures. That’s the day I take them to museums or the zoo. We don’t have anywhere to be until nap time, and even then, we can push it back, because a later nap and a later wake up is fine, given we can be out the door by 5:30 for the gym.

Tuesdays mornings are kind of freeing. It’s the one day a week where I have nowhere to be, nothing to do, no one to please. I can handle the bills, the laundry, the cleaning, and not have to rush. Or I can sit in my chair with a game of sudoku and a cup of tea and just be. The girls love their play time, I love my free time.

Everyone needs a Tuesday morning.

**********************************************************************************************************************

I’d also like to take a moment to sincerely thank everyone who ordered items from the Amazon.com wishlist or donated directly to SPAAR. We truly appreciate it, very much. So, thank you!

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on April 7, 2015, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

