Do Good

Okay. Now that I’ve talked about me a lot the past few posts, let’s talk about something that makes me even happier than a renovated house: helping others.

Last night I was talking with a friend about how rude people can be when commenting on certain things, such as pregnancy. I remember when I was pregnant with Audrey, I’d get some nasty back handed compliments and after having endured them for three other pregnancies, I realized that I was done with that. So one time when someone had said something along the lines of, “Wow, you know you could have just adopted,” I simply said, “Do you realize that your words hurt? Was that your intention?”

Social media is wonderful and awful all at the same time. Now a days people think it’s quite alright to talk about how they don’t approve of abortions, welfare, death penalty, Chipotle, democrats, republicans, or sports. Fine, whatever. But I often wonder why people have such strong opinions on things that aren’t happy.

I don’t live in a bubble, even though it may seem that way. Instead, I understand a lot.

One thing I try not to do is judge other people. I try so hard. Some days I fail miserably, but most days, I do okay.

When I got the list from the families that I’ve taken on to help this winter, I saw that the new mom, after she listed all the things she needed for her son, wanted a massage. I immediately thought, “Well, I can’t tell people they’re raising money so she can go to the spa! What would they think?”

And then I thought, “Screw that, she deserves to treat herself, too.”

Guys, poor people aren’t criminals. They aren’t awful people. They are people who, simply put, are poor.

And I can fluff it up and say less fortunate or in hard times or currently low on the income, but let’s be real here. They have little to no money to spend on anything extra aside from food and rent, so yes, that constitutes as poor.

When I wrote the letters to the moms from last year’s group, I wrote, “I don’t want you to think I take pity on you or think that you can’t take care of yourself. You are having a hard time, and I would like to help to try to lift that burden, even if for a little bit. So that you can know that we are all in this together.”

Because I don’t take pity. I just want to help. It makes me happy to know that if even for just one day, their stresses were lessened.

I’d also like to think that if I was in need of help, someone would help me.

Words hurt, but we can take action to let them know that there are people who care. Every mother deserves to see their children outside in a warm winter coat and boots. Every person deserves to have a massage once and a while. Everyone deserves to know that they are loved, even when the world beats them down. Everyone.

So this year we have two families. Both single mothers. One has two children, a six year old boy with autism and a one year old boy. I don’t point out the autism as a defining thing about this boy, but I am mentioning it because it does add to the mother’s daily struggle. She gets absolutely zero help from his father and I can’t even begin to imagine how that must feel.

The other mother is a mother of a newborn.

I’ve created the amazon.com wishlist and am hoping very much that if you would like to give someone a little bit of cheer this holiday season, buy something off the list. Just as it has for the past two years, everything you purchase comes directly to my house, where I stuff it into an ambulance (thanks Larry!) and hand deliver the items. Every single thing you purchase goes to them. I don’t sell them from the back of my Volvo on the black market, I assure you. Though that would be a fun sight.

Everything that is listed says who it is for and I list it by priority. There are some pricy things and there are some not so pricy things. Also, if anyone reading this that peruses the list finds something that they have themselves in good condition and would like to donate it, I’d be happy to take that as well.

Please also feel free to share the list. It takes more people than I know to make this thing happen.

Thank you for taking the time to consider helping and please know that you have my undying love and respect for continuing to support me. I wish I could hug all of you (and I don’t even like to hug, but lately I’ve been okay with it) and tell you to your face what it means to me. Honestly. Love you all.

Let’s do this.

About Cassie

Two sisters from two misters. What could be more fun?

Posted on October 23, 2015, in Cassie. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

